alea iacta esto

How You Gonna Play Them CDs?

We’ll, one day, tell our grandkids: ‘There used to be these things called CDs that played music and they were supposed to last forever.”

“CLOSING DOWN”
“EVERYTHING MUST GO!!”

Those were the posters screaming from the spattered windows of my local HMV store this afternoon. I sauntered in overrun by thoughts of  “Wow so many CDs! At bucket prices! I better get me some”. Greatest Hits “Rush”? Now, that’s a band I’ve heard of and I don’t have any of their records. At £2,99 maybe worth a try. What’s there to lose?

Tada, my brain jingled its pre-xmas bells: “But you don’t have a CD player” (It’s in storage but you get the drift). “And your new MacBook does not have a CD/DVD drive”. So even if I want to buy CDs (to support my local shops even though the last one is going) I can’t buy CDs because I can no longer play the darned things.

cds-01

Leave a Reply

