alea iacta esto

If At First You Don’t Succeed

One of the craziest things about the learning process is how what at first appears difficult looks ridiculously easy and obvious when you go back and review the material. I spent the whole of last week working through the first half of Aaron Hillegass’ Objective-C Programming book – Objective-C is the programming language Apple uses for its operating system – and by Friday my brain was totally fried. I went to bed thinking “Whatever”.

Saturday morning and I I thought, “OK I’ll just start from the beginning and read it through” and voila it jut popped into place. All made sense! So now I’m going through the second half of the book and I know my experience will be just the same. Things like this constantly remind me that just because something is difficult doesn’t mean it’s impossible. Just because the road looks impassable doesn’t mean there isn’t a solution to getting from here to over there. And just because the will wants to give up doesn’t mean it can’t win.

If at first we don’t succeed we should find a better solution. Never give up.

Leave a Reply

