alea iacta esto

Absurdities

So if the enemy of my enemy is my friend
How to describe the friend of my friend?

The lover of my lover? That’s easy, he is a scoundrel, kill him!
But the killer of my killer? Shall he not be a friend also?

If I murder myself, stain these hands with my blood
And commit this crime in anger for blasphemies
Shall I be purged in purgatory
Or shall my soul rest in Heaven’s bosom?

Shall I steal bread to feed a hungry thief?
But if he steals what’s mine to feed his famished dog
Surely, a curse on his head for ever more!

Can I hate my life and love my foe
Or hate my toe and love my wife
For if I can be friend to the Far and a scourge to the Near
I shall find a delightful home in Absurdities

Leave a Reply

