alea iacta esto

What My Body Needs When It Says

An old friend of mine (we parted ways after I tired of his bullshit) once said to me, “It takes a whole lifetime to learn how to live”. I’ve been on this planet now a fair while and there are some things I am shockingly, just now, learning about my body:

  1. When my body says it needs sugar it doesn’t mean cake. In fact any sweet fruit will do – grapes, blackberries, blueberries, lychees …
  2. When my body says it needs to drink it doesn’t mean brandy. In fact sparkling water will do.
  3. When my body says it needs company it doesn’t mean masturbation. In fact just people watching in a cafe will do.
  4. When my body says it needs more sleep that doesn’t mean right after waking up. What it wants is to go to bed earlier.
  5. When my body says it’s too tired for the gym it doesn’t mean it can’t run or stretch. What it wants is for me to do my best and no more.
  6. When my body says it needs to watch another episode after a cliffhanger it doesn’t mean to do it at 12am. [In fact it should fuck the calm down.]
  7. When my body says it aches it doesn’t mean lay down like a couch potato. In fact a deep massage is what it is calling out for.
  8. When my body says it wants to dance it doesn’t mean to rubbish club music. In fact dancing in the empty studio at the gym will do.
  9. When my body says it’s afraid of a challenge it doesn’t mean to give up. In fact it wants me to prepare thoroughly.
  10. And when my body says it wants some loving it doesn’t mean random sex. What it wants is for me to treat myself because I’m worth it!

PS I have since found out that the line “It takes a whole lifetime to learn how to live” is in a song by Tim O’Brien, “She’s Running Away”.

2 responses

  1. dmitridavidoff

    Mwa!!!! Baby’s wisdoms rock! Ordered you a chuka-chuka 🙂 But missed talking tonight 😦 You well?

    January 24, 2013 at 12:22 am

    • d3mola

      I’ll be even better when I see chuka-chuka!!!!

      January 24, 2013 at 9:07 pm

Leave a Reply

