alea iacta esto

The iPhone 5

http://uk.reuters.com/article/2012/10/06/uk-apple-foxconn-idUKBRE8941JH20121006

The sort of story that makes me nervous about buying anything Made in China. I walked into the Apple store in Covent Garden, London intent on getting the new iPhone 5. I was given two options: (1) put my name on a reserve list and wait 3-8 weeks or (2) put my name on a lottery list open online each day from 9am-5pm and if I win I’ll get an email that evening to pick up a phone the next day. When I asked the spotty teenage boy in blue what was my probability of winning he went “uh?”. So I changed the question and asked how many they get instore each day and he went “uh?”. So I said 50? 100? “Maybe a couple of hundred” he suggested. Clearly, he didn’t have a clue what he was talking about. So I’m going to have to continue using my 3GS for a while longer until the waiting lists disappear and the Foxconn strike ends – by which time the 5S will be out and the whole farce will start anew. Thanks Apple.

Leave a Reply

