alea iacta esto

Ducks And Drakes

You’re watching me while your life passes by. My pretty face, it captivates you. I have sugary black skin and you so want to lick it. My long frame is the stuff of dreams. Your dreams. How easy, you think, I must have it with whomever I fancy. You’re dreaming. Get on with your life. Enjoy your own story. Why, you imagine my bony fingers drumming your chest, tracing the hairy dip between your ruddy pecs. The hour hand has gone round the clock and you really should stop. Oh, you know you could make me happier than the one I’m with? Really? Get on with you. I’m no one. I’m just a pretty face with a beautiful body. We kiss and it’s special. It’s our wedding day and attending: your parents, my parents, our friends, the guardian angels who brought us together. Quit. Dreaming. Get on with your story. I’m just a pretty face like millions who have been before me. Those boys were pursued from Persepolis to Athens, from Rome to the Vatican. Your Achilles to my Patroclus. My Alcibiades to your …? One day my good looks will be gone, gone and you won’t want me anymore. Quit watching me while your life passes by.

Leave a Reply

