alea iacta esto

Eremitageslottet

On my way back to London from visiting my boyfriend in Copenhagen for the weekend, he handed me an article by David Foster Wallace titled “Television and US Fiction”. The article had been recommended by a precocious American student and dealt with American fixation with television and its influence on and it being influenced by American fiction and culture. At 40 pages long, I only managed to finish reading it on the flight. One thing that caught my attention was his description of a scene from Don DeLillo’s book “White Noise” where a group of spectators were at a barn famous only for being spectated. There were people watching people watching people watching the barn. I thought then of our fixation with watching, particularly watching through camera lenses while never really being interesting in or involved with the thing we photograph. Earlier in the afternoon, I, my boyfriend and the precocious American student had been to the deer park at Klampenborg and had stopped by Eremitageslottet, a little castle on a hill. There were many people standing around taking pictures. One of us took a photo of the castle and then we walked away. We did not talk about the castle – not it’s history, not it’s function, not it’s architecture.

4 responses

  1. Wow, great photo! I am a WordPress photographer as well, so I love when I see posts like this! Keep up the great work.

    February 27, 2012 at 12:44 am

    • d3mola

      Thx but I don’t deserve the compliment as I picked that photo from the web. The one we took was not as scenic.

      February 27, 2012 at 12:55 am

      • Ah I see. Well, it’s still a great photo! 🙂

        February 27, 2012 at 12:57 am

      • d3mola

        I loved your photos though.

        February 27, 2012 at 1:01 am

Leave a Reply

