alea iacta esto

Showing My Age

I’d rather bury my head in a book than in a Kindle
I’d rather buy a song than download one (illegally)

I’d rather call girls girls than call them bitches
I’d rather call brothers brothers than call them niggas

I’d rather smack a child and stop it from being rotten
Than pet it, coo-cooing “Stop it Billy or you’ll go to bed at seven”
WTF?

I’d rather the government only told the truth
But then that was never so even when I was a youth

I’d rather religion continued its downward and spectacular decline
Than the recent upsurge in all frauds divine

I’d rather dance to music someone played on
Than tap my toe and shake my head at auto-tune

I’d rather spend nights reading story books
Than waiting twitching expectantly at Facebook

I’d rather pay good money for good products
(the kind you will pass to the next generation with certainty)
Than buy Made-in-[insert any shit that kaputs just after the warranty]

But it’s not all bad with things modern
I’d rather listen to music on an iPod than a Walkman
Check the internet for when the bus is coming
Than stand at the stop in the cold not knowing
Watch HD instead of analogue TV
Acrobat pdf-it instead of photocopy
Skype (when it works) and laugh when the image talks

What it really comes down to is
I’ve seen the good, the bad and the uglies
But the ugly that was when I was young and should have been in braces
I now see through rose tinted glasses

4 responses

  1. I loved reading this and I hate Kindles too. I bought one a few months back, tried to fall in love with it but the chemistry wasn’t there and then bingo, I took it to the States recently and it got nuked in the airport x-ray machine so I’m really pleased. Books win every time.
    Great post and I’m going to check out your others too.
    Lottie

    January 22, 2012 at 1:53 pm

    • d3mola

      Thx! Everyone appears to be in love with their Kindles. “Oh I just love it”, they gush “I think of a book and I can just have it” and I’m thinking, seriously my dear, how many books a year do you really read. Kindles are becoming look-at-me-I have-the-new-technology toys.

      January 22, 2012 at 8:45 pm

  2. The only reason I even have a kindle is because I travel a lot and I can’t take school text books with me!

    January 22, 2012 at 3:16 pm

    • d3mola

      Understandable in that case. I like to see what people are reading, you know maybe get inspired. In someone’s home I like to look at their shelves and see what they’ve read, you know get inspired. In my flat I like to see the piles of books I haven’t yet read and get inspired to keep reading. One can’t do that with a Kindle.

      January 22, 2012 at 8:48 pm

Leave a Reply

