alea iacta esto

What Happened? Ah, That!

Once, I had a shit job but owned a home and a car
Now, I have a cool job but neither wheels nor habitat
What happened?

Once, I went out many a night trying to be popular
Now, I’m home, book in hand, drunk with euphoria
What happened?

Once, I knew every song, the artist, the writers and backing singers
Now, bass is a fish, and pop raps the niggers who kick ass
What happened?

Once, I thought the world of God and our government
Now, I see right through the lies I’ve been sold since Eden
What happened?

Once, I wanted to be someone else, please everyone, be better endowed
Now, me is calm, me is wise, me is Tao
Ah, that’s what happened.

2 responses

  1. you grew up šŸ˜‰ Great poem!

    January 20, 2012 at 10:37 pm

    • d3mola

      Thanks Maggie May. Yes, I grew up. To think I used to think growing up (i.e being older) was something that happened to other people!

      January 20, 2012 at 10:45 pm

Leave a Reply

